top of page


   2020 Summer Workshop

  The 2020 AIDL Diplomacy and Leadership Workshop is dedicated to

  Dr. Houda Abadi

           the Founder and Executive Director of Transformative Peace   

  whose tireless work for peace has been and continues to be an inspiration.


      This workshop is also dedicated to all of the

  Young People of the World

        whose goodness and optimism give us hope.

 With special thanks to Dr. Charity Butcher, Kennesaw State University,     for her tireless help with the US National Security Council Simulation,

and to the

Center for the Advancement and Study of International Education (CASIE)

 for their technical support and encouragement. 

Scroll down to see pictures from the 2020 Zoom Workshop

            Civil Discourse:  Rules for Engagement

          Ms. Natasha Derricks / AP Teacher at Dekalb School of the Arts


          MLK, Jr.’s Philosophy of Non-violence

          Ranger John Jenkins / MLK, Jr. National Historic Site

          Servant Leadership

          Dr.  Edward Queen / Director, Ethics and Servant Leadership, Emory University


          Introduction to Ethics

          Dr. Jonathan Crane / Associate Professor of Medicine & Religion, Emory University Center                      for Ethics


           From Korea to the US:  Tips for Success

           Mr. Sunny K. Park / CEJ of GBM, Inc. and CEO of Global Sun Investments


           Community Service & Non- Profits

           Mr. Jay Cranman / CEO of Hands on Atlanta


           Importance of a Free Media

           Dr. Charles Davis / Dean of UGA College of Journalism and Mass Communication


           Discerning Bias in the Media

           Ms. Stephanie Stapleton / PhD Candidate, KSU


                                                      Diplomacy & Peacebuilding


            Atlanta's & Georgia’s International Diplomacy  (Panel Discussion)

            Ms. Vanessa Ibarra / Director of the Mayor’s Office of International Affairs & Trade

            Mr. Nico Wijnberg / Director of International Relations & Chief of Protocol,

                    Georgia Dept. of Economic Development


            Diplomatic Protocol

            Ms. Paulina Guzman /  Global Engagement Officer, Mayor’s Office of International Affairs

                     & Trade


            US Diplomatic Corps 

            Mr. Andrew Paul /  Foreign Service Officer, US Department of State, Washington, DC


            International Diplomacy

            Ms. Nadia Theodore / Consul General of Canada



            Father Josh Thomas / Executive Director of Kids4Peace, Austin, Texas


             Interfaith Dialogue

             Ms. Imane Bakkioui / International Visitors Leadership Program Participant, KU Leuven



                                                                 World Issues


            US National Security Council & South Sudan Humanitarian Crisis

            Dr. Charity Butcher / Assistant Professor, Political Science and International Affairs,  

                Kennesaw State University


           Introduction to International Relations

           Ms. Coryn Marsik /  International Relations Manager, Georgia Dept. of Economic



           South Sudan

           Mr. Ngor Kur Mayol  /  Former Lost Boy of the Sudan

           UN Mission in South Sudan

           Ms. Maureen Nealon /  Assoc. Humanitarian Affairs Officer, UNMISS, Juba, South Sudan


           Migration: Causes & Solutions:  (Panel Discussion)

           Ambassador Jim Nealon /  Former US Ambassador to Honduras

           Mr. James Watson /   USAID Development Diplomat in Residence, Morehouse College,     


                                                                  Special Guest


           Program Debriefing

           Mr. Trevor Williams / Managing Editor for Global Atlanta

                                                                Featured Speaker


           Peace Through Unity

           Dr. Houda Abadi – Founder and Executive Director of Transformative Peace;  2018 AIDL

                   Peacebuilder Award Recipient

bottom of page